Exploring the Nakshatra Meanings in the Cosmological Circle

(Read this post first):  Here I'll explore what these twenty-eight points along the Cosmological Circle might mean in terms of the lunar constellations / nakshatras.  Here is the circle again with my addition of the GV points:

Michael Schneider's diagram with my additions*

The Chinese group the twenty-eight lunar constellations into 4 animal symbols or guardians of the four outer directions:

Each of the lunar constellations represents a body area of its corresponding animal.  I interpret this as the seven chakras of each "animal".  So now, I divide the cosmological circle into four parts using the Vedic Astrology principle of bhavat bhavam, counting every 12th point until I come back to the originating point.  This produces four seven-pointed stars.  I believe that the animals are really mythological expressions of these four seven-pointed "stars" and that the original system has to do with four divisions of twenty-eight.

What is fundamental to this four-fold division could be anything.  There is a minor nakshatra in the muladhara chakra (root) called the kanda chakra just below the place where the sushumna nadi begins in the sacral chakra.  It is egg-shaped (probably the source of the primordeal egg mythologies) and the source** of 72,000 nadis that make up our entire soul energy body.

The serpent energy, Kundalini is coiled around this egg in her sleeping state of ignorance before the enlightenment process begins.  From the view of Genesis and creation of the cosmos, this is the day of rest following the six stages of creation through the chakras.

The Muladhara Chakra, is imagined as a lotus with four petals.  Petals are nadis.  These four nadis are said to be wrapped around the kanda chakra.***  They are associated with the Sanskrit syllables वं vaṃ, शं śaṃ, षं ṣaṃ, and सं saṃ are the four vrittis (fluctuations/waves in the mind, according to Patanjali) associated with the four goals of life in Hinduism: dharma, artha, kama and moksha.  The sushumna nadi, with all seven major chakras in it, is the one concerned with moksha and the "milky way" path represented by the GV points and lunar constellations.  We all know what the root chakra world is like.  We are living in it now.  This is the astral component of it, the consciousness and energy component.  We need a root chakra in order to ground ourselves as souls in a physical body, to lower our vibration so that we can exist on the earth plane or dimension.

In the head, in the control centre of the mind, these four areas or directions represent different pathways and goals in life.  In other words, when we know our subtle power and have some command over it, or even unconsciously, our intention and attention directs this power for various goals whether selfishly or unselfishly.  And we are pushed around by the elements and by the planets and stars until we gain some enlightenment and can begin to go with the flow in a wiser way, to move with the Tao and employ the forces of light and hopefully repel those of darkness, to attract grace that we may vibrate faster and move inward/upward to greater spaces of self-mastery and happiness.  Thus from root to crown, we move and grow, sometimes painfully, through the school grades of earthly incarnation.  The goal of moksha is attained, according to Patanjali and other enlightened masters, when the vrittis (fluctuations of the mind) stop - then the rapturous witness is revealed and all the light can enter.  This is the true Philosopher's stone and the true purpose of alchemy and all the Vedas.

All of this is just to highlight how sacred this geometry really is.  It really encapsulates everything in life.  But in this post I want to experiment with the four seven-pointed stars.

Connecting the dots - four axis directions

This idea came to me in meditation.  I don't know if it's correct but I feel there are many interesting things to explore by contemplating this technique.  When I connected the twenty-four points by drawing a line to every 12th point I came up with these four directional axis lines that suggest interesting relationships between certain nakshatras.  Taking my cue from the way Rahu and Ketu are used in Vedic Astrology I look upon these four "stars" as seven axis sections.  It is also interesting to see how they fit together:

(a) Moksha
(A) has to be the moksha direction because it includes Abhijit.
  • The axis between GV16 (Jyestha) and GV28 (Bharany) makes sense because I see them as posterior and anterior points on the top of the medulla at the palette - a dimension between the gross and astral planes.
  • The axis between GV24 (Purvabhadrapada) and GV8 (Magha) makes sense in terms of their mythological connection with Pitre loka.  GV24 links to manas chakra (nagas) and GV8 at the hrit chakra could have some connection with the sacral chakra below it where Sri Vasudeva says Pitre Loka is located.  (Remember that these lokas/chakras are interdimensional, not limited by their physical locations in the body.)
  • The axis of GV8 (Magha) to GV20 (Abhijit) suggests a deeper aspect of hrit chakra related to the causal nadi (brahma nadi) leading to the causal brain (brahmarandhra chakra) that has its corresponding physical location in GV20.  It suggests to me how bhakti yoga takes you all the way to nirvana, and then the transcendental step beyond that is moksha (liberation).  It is at the causal level that we begin to access that potential.


(B) This one has to do with Dharma (performance of one's karmic duty, honouring the Guide/Guru within in life).
  • Moola, Uttarabhadrapada and Krittika are all to do with death of some kind.
  • The axis GV21 (Sravanna) to GV5 (Punarvasu) in the mythology has to do with a very full expression of Vishnu's energy.

(C) This one has to do with Artha (wealth).  Wealth is what we treasure in life, what we value.  It does not mean "money".  It is all the gifts that are loaned to us during our earth-walk.
  • The axis of GV2 (Rohini) and GV18 (Purvashadha) has something to with beauty, radiance, refinement.  Rohini is pursued by both Brahma in the mythology, Siva (as Adra-Rudra) stops him and the sexual energy is transmuted in the second bindu posterior soma chakra point of GV18.
  • The axis of GV2 (Rohini) and GV14 (Vishakha-Radha) has to do with pursuing what one treasures in life in the mythology - Rohini is Chandra's favourite and Radha is Krishna's.
(D) This one has to do with Kama for sure - desire as "attachment to" and "aversion against".

  • The axis of GV19(Uttarashadha) & GV3(Mrigasira) might have something to do with the transmutation of sexual energy (GV3) into the head region into ojas, bringing a kind of intoxicated feeling.
  • The axis of GV3(Mrigasira) and GV15(Anuradha) in the mythology has to do with lust (Rohini being the object of Brahma's lust) becoming pure love (Radha's love for Krishna); again dealing with transmutation of sexual energy.
  • The axis of GV7 (Ashlesha) and GV19 (Uttarashadha) has a mythological connection to do with overcoming attachment to the physical body (Ashlesha-Shesha) and attachment to the ego (Uttarashadha as that one-pointed focus leading to nirvana).   

[to be continued - and if you have any ideas about this please comment or write to me]

*Constructing the Cosmological Circle:  Symbol and Instrument for Universal Harmony (Constructing the Universe Activity Books, Vol.5)
** The Kanda is one of two centres from which all nadis originate according to Dr. Shamanthakamani Narendran's (see her slides on nadis link).  The other is the Kandasthana/nabbis chakra located "a little above the navel and the heart".
*** see Cyndi Dale's book on the chakras (bibliography)